Idaho: Latest updates on Coronavirus

Last updated on March 26 at 7:17 p.m. E.D.T.

Idaho currently has 189 confirmed cases of COVID-19, according to Idaho public health officials. The state has tested 2,867 people for the virus. 1,276 were tested at the Idaho Bureau of Laboratories, which includes 5 out-of-state residents. 1,581 people were tested through commercial laboratories but some may have been tested multiple times.  

On March 26, the state announced that there has been three coronavirus-related fatalities. The Idaho Statesman reports that it was two Blaine County residents and one Canyon County resident that succumbed to the disease. All three were men over the age of 60.  

Idaho Gov. Brad Little issued a 21-day order on March 25 for residents of the state to stay home unless they need essentials, according to the Idaho Statesman. Essential businesses like grocery stores, restaurants for take-out, pharmacies, financial institutions and more will remain open. Outdoor exercise is permitted while maintaining social distancing (at least six feet).

The Idaho State Journal reports that medical supplies are being called for by the Southeastern Idaho Public Health. They are looking for medical grade gloves, N95 or surgical masks, disinfectant and hand sanitizer for health care workers and first responders.


Misinformation is very dangerous during this global health crisis. The Idaho Statesman has reported on how the state of Washington is handling the rumors that are being spread about COVID-19.  Washington state has one of the highest amounts of positive cases in the United States. 

The Idaho State Journal has also reported on who has been prioritized by the healthcare system in Southeast Idaho for COVID-19 testing.  

Cases by county:    

  • Ada County: 53
  • Blaine County: 86
  • Teton County: 2 
  • Twins Falls County: 1
  • Madison County: 2
  • Kootenai County: 9
  • Canyon County: 21
  • Bingham County: 1
  • Valley County: 1
  • Cassia County: 1
  • Bannock County: 2
  • Idaho County: 1
  • Nez Perce County: 4
  • Payette County: 1
  • Fremont County: 1
  • Jefferson County: 2
  • Custer Country: 1